Is this ME? (Alcoholism)

A few weeks ago, I got dengue and I had fever over 40, for 9 days… and though my platelets barely dropped, being that sick for so long did things to my internal organs.  My LIVER  got affected, it swelled up, and it affected my kidneys, and giving me the risk diabetes.

Last Sunday, we had a friends’Christmas party and I didn’t drink because I’m trying to be clean and healthy after my health scare.

I drink, I love to drink! It relaxes me, it let’s me be in a different state of mind, it lets me be without inhibitions.

I’ve realised that when I’m in social situations, I depend on my liquid courage. I usually don’t talk or laugh or open up to anyone without alcohol  in my system… I think I’m even mean and rude without alcohol.

My boyfriend says I have a big heart, which I know I do, it’s just been hurt by the world too much that it’s easier to be closed off from people and use alcohol  as an excuse to be silly and child-like.

Since I’ve stopped drinking (it’s been a month, to date… I’ve acquired a few new hobbies, reading comic books, exercising, tv shows, more interest in the lives of my family and boyfriend.

I think this is a start of a new life for me, I still really like to drink but I don’t know,               Life seems better without being by a bottle.

Leave a Reply

